Family / Holidays

Turkey 2013

Firstly I just want to apologise for the extreme delay in this blog post – It’s fair to say I’ve made you wait long enough for this blog and I can’t even say if it’s been worth the wait HOWEVER I’ll let you decide…

So it’s been nearly 8 months since my family holiday in Turkey. Which I know is a ridiculously long time ago but…better late than never! I’m not sure if 8 months is still considered “Fashionably late” but I’ll go with that…

Team

Team

A little intro to our ‘holiday’

By the term ‘family holiday’ I mean 4 families,  16 people, which means that I should have known it wouldn’t be ‘relaxing.’ And we should have definitely sensed that no relaxation would be involved when on the first day we were split into teams which meant rivalry for the next ten days was inevitable. I had a whole new family for the duration of my holiday, can’t complain, my new mum and dad didn’t give me lectures about my room being untidy…

Teams!

Teams!

If you want a clearer picture about this holiday, think about The Hunger Games. Somehow we have all become ‘Volunteers’ in these family games without actually volunteering.  You WILL participate in forced family fun whether you like it or not.

And you know how some people say “It’s not about winning, it’s just about taking part” that is not a motto for us I’m afraid. It’s a fight for survival – just like The Hunger Games.

Okay maybe that last bit was a bit of an exaggeration… But you get what I’m saying.

Water Polo

A daily occurrence on this holiday was a game of Water Polo. Here’s a nice picture.

Happy Families

Happy Families

Nice isn’t it? If only the game was as calm as it seems in this picture. Looks like a fun light-hearted game with my dear family.

NO.

It was the most competitive game I have ever played. Think 50 year olds splashing water into the eyes of little 15 year olds… dramatic but true. Despite this, we went back into the pool everyday to play again and by the end of every game, the pool area would be deserted. I’m guessing we scared everyone back to their room…

Unfortunately my hand-eye coordination during these games didn’t do me any favours and resulted in me being told off for missing the ball, (luckily we were in the pool so my tears were hidden.) That’s the biggest mistake you could make – showing you’re weak. Do you really want a hairy Asian man chasing after you around the pool? Or even worse… A hairy Asian woman? (I’ll let your imagination decide who that is…)

With the two youngest members of the family being team captains. Both probably secretly praying I wasn’t on their team (thanks guys) once you’d got your team that was it. Dirty looks, drowning each other, and wrestling all came out in full force. Little eggs, Kamini and Simran definitely braved it by basically standing inside the goal.

Don’t know where they got their courage from…but it definitely wasn’t from me or Leah who was participating from the other side of the pool (why didn’t I think of that plan?) Now lets take a closer look at some photos…

Look at that concentration...

Look at that concentration…

Zoom in to fully inspect their facial expressions

Zoom in to fully inspect their facial expressions

Anyway, I have already rambled enough about a game of water polo. Nothing I say will do it justice, so just watch this video… pretty much identical to how our games were…except in our case there was more water and a lot LESS six packs… Watch from 0:30…

(By the way no one was actually hurt in our games of water polo. Feelings, maybe.. but everyone made it out the pool alive.)

Beer Pong

Beer Pong was by far the most entertaining of all the drinking games we played on holiday (and trust me there was far too many – which probably explains why only one person made it down to every breakfast on holiday – yes Seemami that’s you! With your 10 fresh orange juices..)

ANYWAY, back to beer pong. As we were already in four teams we joined up to make two teams of 8 – this  made us more loud, competitive and with the alcohol affecting our vision it probably explains why the game went on for so long.

And apparently a little bit of competition and A LOT of alcohol makes some of us want to do exercise…

Reg vs Shib

Reg vs Shib

It also makes parents act out against their nephews by chucking beverages over them…

There's a lemon on your top.

There’s a lemon on your top.

And finally, it leaves all the kids completely horrified by the behaviour of their drunken parents…

Sob sob

Sob sob

Other ‘fun’ family games

So as you all know our parents love to see us having a good time on holiday – which is why they made us do a “fun but educational” quiz on what we we call all our aunties and uncles in Indian… Who said we didn’t know how to have a good time?

BUT saying this, as me and Leah won (you all doubted us, we haven’t forgotten) we loved basking in this victory for the remainder of the holiday. Which is the only victory I did get this holiday, because SOMEONE didn’t give me a Fairplay Award (Thanks Sahil.)

For those that aren’t familiar with this term, here is the definition from Urban Dictionary…

“Fair Play”
Another form of saying “good job.” Irish slang.
Eg – That’s a great idea, fair play to you man.

Dares

Not all of us did our dares, including me (it’s been 8 months get over it!) But huge rounds of applause to the special few that did. A personal highlight was Shiv carrying out the dare I assigned him which was to ‘meow’ at the waiter everytime it was his turn to order.

And of course Lynne Mami singing, my pops becoming Kamini’s slave and Sat and Seemami’s feet tied together for an evening was all excellent entertainment! (Sorry to any I have missed out – there is just so many of us!)

LOVE IT

LOVE IT

Nights out

Our evenings on the town were eventful to say the least. Our second night out was where the beautiful holiday romance was formed – A male belly dancer who worked at the hotel took a shine to‘Shy’ Shiv. Unfortunately he wasn’t Shiv’s cup of tea. Although that didn’t stop the belly dancer shimmying around Shiv when we bumped into him in a club in Bodrum…

Love.

Love.

I don’t even know where to begin with our nights out except for that they were hilarious and that Sahil formed a severe hatred toward Blue Lagoon cocktails…I reckon these pictures will give you a better idea 😉

No idea...

Shotttttttttttttttts

IMG_5226 IMG_5229 IMG_5271 IMG_5322

Romances

So since i’ve already brushed upon holiday romances, (Shiv and the male Shakira) I guess we can’t forget the OTHER romance that formed on our holiday. Manoj uncle formed a very special friendship with the hotel jeweller, enough to actually have THIS picture taken…

True Love

True Love

Also there is one special guy that we all held close to our hearts. He was there for us everyday and made sure our glasses were never empty..ERHAN. This ones for you…

Matching lads.

Matching lads.

Erhan loves a photo opportunity.

Erhan loves a photo opportunity.

One topic I must brush on is how much we all learnt about Indian dad behaviour.

Normally, someone tells a joke, everyone laughs and that’s the end of it. But with this odd species (our dads) they feel the need to tell the joke a few times to make sure that everyone within a one mile radius knows a joke has been told. Then to top it all off they need to high 5 everyone that laughs at the joke. And then about an hour later RECAP on the joke that has already been told. It’s been 60 MINUTES. That’s all. 60 minutes. We all remember the joke. Stop.

Other common things you may spot after a joke has been told are extremely loud clapping and the handshake of appreciation if the joke you told was particularly hilarious. ­ For the mum’s, mine in particular, it’s the ‘laugh and lean.’ Not good if you’re sitting next to her as you end up getting leant on for the entire conversation.

I’ve nearly finished, don’t worry!

So all in all it was an extremely eventful holiday. Seeing my mum pour a gin and tonic all over her head, my dad becoming slave to a 15 year old and my cousin ‘meow’ at a waiter I can safely say that now I don’t look like the only weirdo in my family.

Annnnd it probably consisted of one too many hangovers and finding out too much information about each other (Sahil who was that girl in your kitchen again?)

Coming up with nicknames (aka the worst – Porky Punam and Succulent Seema), battling it out with the two Khindria bro’s, and taking far too many selfies with everyone (priya that means you) are a few more reasons as to why it was such a good holiday! Speaking of taking  selfies…who is this guy?

Well...SOMEONE is confident!

Well…SOMEONE is confident!

But I have to say I wouldn’t change any of it…(although sharing a room with my brother was not so fun when he squirted me with his nasal spray…WHY.)

Some of us found love (Shiv/Manoj Uncle,) new friendships were formed (Erhan) and one special someone even found his long lost brother… A truly, life-changing moment. Here is a tribute to… The OTHER Reggie.

Long lost twin

Long lost twin

Oh, and one more thing, to all the Sethi’s that ‘happened’ to win all our money on the daily bets…I’m on to you. Hope you enjoyed reminiscing the hol! Here’s a couple more pics for ya:

Crew

Crew

LADS

LADS

GALS

GALS

Youths on the street

Youths on the street

See you all in Centre Parcs! xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

4 thoughts on “Turkey 2013

  1. Amazing Aditi!! Definitely been worth the wait! I think you have earned a ‘fair play’ award now. See you on Fridayyy x

Leave a Reply

